New Beginnings and Finding The Good In Bad Situations

Today is a day of all kinds of new beginnings for me, after the disaster that was the Indie Craft Experience over the weekend.

Today is one of my last days at the company I’ve been working for since 2008. Although it is a strange (and scary) thought to know that I’m leaving something so comfortable for something so new (I have a new job lined up for later this month), I’m very much looking forward to new challenges and meeting new people. Being stagnant is never a good thing. In the meantime, with some vacation I’ve accrued, I’m taking some much needed time off to work on my business and to sit and think and be still. I want to create an entirely new main website, come up with new and different ways to display my photography, and to recapture the desire to create using other materials and mediums. I was really quite inspired over the weekend by all the brilliant ideas and talented artists. I have shelves full of sadly neglected art supplies that my fingers are itching to work with.

Today I began restocking my shop with new items. Go check them out now!

Today I want to tell you about a few awesome things and people I saw over the weekend at the show:

  • Metamorphosis Metals had a booth next to me and I bought one of her lovely, delicate initial necklaces. Sonya is a master craftswoman and I really can see her going all the way to the top with her skill and attention to detail. She’s very nice and kind in person and it was great fun to see so many people fall in love with her pieces throughout the weekend.

  • Off the Map Art does really awesome prints using maps as a base. I bought this one because it had a map of the Southeast in the camper shape.

  • Stitch of Whimsy makes these TOTALLY AWESOME felt animal heads mounted to picture frames. I LOVE THIS IDEA SO MUCH. It’s really kitschy and campy and retro and I am now the proud owner of a decapitated bunny head!

  • So She Sews created some really fun fabric pieces of art to hang on the wall. I fell in love with this one and am so proud to own it.

  • I ate so many Bookie Macarons I lost count.
  • S Tector Metals makes really fun and fresh jewelry; I bought a nice necklace from her that I look forward to pairing with some fun summer shirts.

  • Ibby and Rufus not only had lovely jewelry, but also fun stitched artwork of animals. I fell in love with this owl and am still trying to decide on just the right place to put him in our apartment.

  • King of Pops popsicles are TO. DIE. FOR. Try the Chocolate Sea Salt pop if you dare. It’s fantastic.

So you see, even though I sold virtually nothing, I still had some decent moments of blissful retail therapy. (Is there anything better?) You really should take a moment out of your day to visit the shops above, or any of the other amazing folks who were vendors at ICE this year. They are all top-notch creative types who make the world just a little bit brighter.

Onward and upward!

4 Comments on “New Beginnings and Finding The Good In Bad Situations”

  1. Is there a way to get lists of these shows?

  2. Gina says:

    I *Love* the pieces you bought! Awesomeness. The buffalo and owl are my faves..oh…and the camper. I can’t decide! I wish I had gone now 😀

  3. Sonya says:

    i just ran across this, so glad you are enjoying your necklace 🙂 it was great to meet you at the show and so kind of you to let me traipse through your booth on my popsicle and beer runs 🙂 and i’m so happy to see that after such a disappointing weekend that you found you photo in a fancy Target promo! how exciting!


Leave a Reply

