A Rainy Labor Day in Chattanooga

My husband and I took a short trip up to Chattanooga, TN this weekend. We love Chattanooga: it’s small and friendly, full of fun and interesting things to do. It’s only two hours away from Atlanta, Birmingham, and Nashville, so it’s super easy to get to from pretty much any area in the mid-Southeast. The Tennessee Aquarium is to die for and you really should See Rock City if you haven’t. Of course, our mini-vacation was completely rained out today with the remnants of a tropical storm, so we didn’t get to do very much. The rain did, however, make going to Ruby Falls a fun little adventure since the entire waterfall is located entirely underground. We were one of the last tour groups they let in for the day as the caverns were beginning to flood because they had SO MUCH RAIN over the weekend.

The falls were absolutely beautiful. And cold. Absolutely freezing. Thank God for my rain jacket. When you enter the cavern containing Ruby Falls, they turn the lights on for exactly seven minutes. It is breathtaking and I felt as though I could have taken pictures forever. I’m sharing just a couple here, particularly those that came out completely abstract. I only brought my point-and-shoot down into the caverns, which was probably a mistake since the lighting was so low, but despite the blurriness (which I apologize for), I still think the pics are kind of cool.

I’ll be blogging later this week about my time second-shooting a wedding with Amy Carson Photography over the weekend!

3 Comments on “A Rainy Labor Day in Chattanooga”

  1. Amy Carson says:

    I think these shots are super cool! Love the lighting!

  2. dfurlan says:

    The first photo is absolutely amazing. Great work!

  3. Love getting to see your day and photos. Beautiful just like you!


Leave a Reply

