Back from New York

I had a lovely time in New York City last week. The weather was absolutely glorious: early to mid 60s the entire time. You didn’t even need a coat until evening, which was quite something considering that it was November in New York and the week before the weather had hovered in the 30s.

Autumn was in its most magnificent display in Central Park. I spent two hours Friday wandering around the west side of the park, walking next to the lake and making my way up to the Jackie O. Reservoir. The trees were positively bursting with fall colors: vivid yellows, reds, greens, and oranges were EVERYWHERE, and I sat down next to the lake at one point and just marveled at how perfect and beautiful it was. There wasn’t a cloud in the sky, and enveloped as I was within the park, it was quiet and peaceful, with the only  sounds coming from small animals scurrying round and the people rowing their boats in the middle of the lake. I could have sat on that bench forever.

I opted to take my sweet little Panasonic point-and-shoot with me, and I’m so glad that I was not burdened with the added girth and weight of the D90. I typically take my red JanSport backpack (still in great condition and I’ve had it for more than ten years) with me, but it’s really quite annoying (and inconvenient) to have that huge thing attached to my body, so it was quite a relief to carry a regular bag that didn’t weigh me down. I also didn’t end up being anyone’s pack mule during the trip (“Deborah, can I put this thing I’ve just bought in your backpack so I don’t have to carry it?”), which was an added bonus.

If you’d like to see my pictures, click here to go to my Flickr set. I didn’t edit any of the images; they are straight out of the camera. This is almost unheard of for me as I tend to crop here and there and add a little punch to my images, but the Central Park pictures in particular were so perfect that I didn’t see any need to edit them. The rest are just snap-shot type of photos and I wanted to keep them pure and unedited as well, weird facial expressions and all! Hah!

One Comment on “Back from New York”

  1. WanderWoman says:

    Beautiful photos! I wanted to go to New York this year to see the Fall colors and it just didn’t happen so thanks for this post. I agree about the ease of having a point and shoot in your bag. I want a bigger and better camera but I love having my little Canon Powershot at the ready!


Leave a Reply

