Purchasing a Domain Name

After spending months and months thinking about it, I finally decided to bite the bullet and buy the .com domain for Facing the Lens today. It feels good to have ownership of it at last (I purchased it from BlueHost), and I’m quite excited at the prospect of having a fully-customizable web site where I can do whatever I’d like and break any rule I choose to break. Muwahaha.

I decided a while back that I wanted to use the WordPress content management software and install it and run it from my own domain name. From what I understand, you can do ANYTHING with the WordPress.org software, and I’m looking forward to figuring it out and exploring this new world. I used to do a bit of HTML coding at a job in the past (and know a little bit of .ASP and Java), so I’m hoping that this small bit of knowledge will help me have a smaller learning curve. Additionally, one of the reasons I went for BlueHost was the fact that they have one-click support for WordPress installation and anything to make this migration easier for me is a plus. I’m going to have this blog link up to my domain name once I get everything sorted out, so you can still come to this address in the future if you wish.

Another plus is that when I get new business cards made, I can put my own URL on the card, instead of taking people to Etsy or to ArtFire or anywhere else. I will be able to truly define my own identity and establish my own presence on the web.

I’m very excited!

Leave a Reply

