Things Not to Photograph

I came across this humorous post on The Oatmeal the other day and wanted to write about it because it got me thinking about things I photograph all the time that I quite possibly use as a crutch, unconsciously preventing me from exploring a subject from a new angle or point of view. I decided to make a list of things I photograph that are tired, or that prevent me from enjoying something else. Enjoy!

  • Concerts – I almost always take my camera to concerts. I love capturing fun images of performers bathed in brightly colored lighting as they play their instruments. The only problem with this is that I tend to spend most of my time with my face pressed up against a camera, instead of actually enjoying the event I was so looking forward to! I have not brought a camera to the last few shows I’ve attended, and I enjoyed them so much more. Sometimes, I think it is okay to just leave the camera at home. The Oatmeal summarizes this one very well, I think.
  • Rust – What can I say? I like rusty old decrepit things. Show me a rusted out door hinge or padlock, and I’m there, thrusting my camera upon it. That’s not necessary a bad thing, but sometimes when I go through my photographs, I am amazed at how many rusted items I see.
  • Flowers – I enjoy taking pictures of flowers more than most things because I find them to be so beautiful and complex. (Hey look! There’s one in this very post!) Do I use this as a crutch when I can’t think of anything better to photograph? YOU BET I DO. Is this bad? I’m not sure yet.
  • Artwork – I always used to bring my camera with me when going to an art museum, much like I did with concerts. I found myself taking endless photographs of artwork hanging on walls (no flash used, of course), then coming home and wondering what in the world I was thinking. Yes, I’ve taken literally hundreds of pictures of pictures.
  • Endless Pictures of the Same Thing – If I find myself on vacation or in an interesting, unfamiliar place, I end up taking a zillion photographs of the same thing, only to delete nearly all of them when I get home. Why do I take ten photographs of the same thing, from the same angle, with no changes? I have absolutely no idea. None whatsoever. All it ends up doing is annoying me when I’m sorting through my photographs at the end of the day.

What do you take too many photos of?

One Comment on “Things Not to Photograph”

  1. courtney says:

    My kids. But can anyone ever have too many photos of them?? šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

