Rural Decay

One of my favorite, favorite things to do is drive down lonely country roads looking for buildings that have decayed and seen better days. There is something purely magical about coming across an ancient building, unused for years. I often wonder what the building looked like in its prime and who used to walk through its doors: were they like me? Did they share my hopes and dreams? I have come across so many NEAT buildings while taking little road trips: abandoned motels, decaying churches, barns that are falling apart, you name it. You can see some of my rural images by going here.

I am thinking about adding some of my rural decay images to my Etsy shop, although to be honest, I’m not sure if adding some of them to the shop will make it seem disorganized or incoherent as I currently only have macro pictures within the shop. I have several images in mind that I think would make a good fit once I do some post-processing on them to give them more of a “vintage” feel (which is what I did to the image in this post). I think once I do that to the rural decay images, they will fit in much more succinctly (is that even the right word?) with what I currently have in the shop.

If anyone out there has any thoughts on the matter, please do leave a comment!

7 Comments on “Rural Decay”

  1. I like this shot! I’m sure I would enjoy others like it. The narrative you added makes one stop and think.

  2. balebusta says:

    Oh yeah, please please add rural pics to the etsy shop…i’ll be snapping those up….I love your macro flower pics bc they are perfectly executed artistically, but for me, I think, at the end of the day it’s a picture of a plant — too happy and cheerful — bring on the dilapidation and dashed dreams!!!

  3. Thanks for the feedback, guys! I’ll start working up some of my rural decay work for the shop. Dashed dreams for the win, Balebusta!

  4. I feel the same about old buildings – I always wonder about their history. I think this is a lovely shot. Your work is stunning!

  5. Joy Fisher says:

    I love rural decay as well and had lots of fun capturing some while home in GA. Was also wondering about coherency for my (future) etsy shop as I have a couple areas of interest. I’m following you closely to see how it’s done. Hope you find my imitation the sincere flattery that it is. Love your work!

  6. cheri says:

    I agree with everyone, you should add this to etsy. So many people appreciate the classic elegance and mystery of an old abandoned building and I am sure it would be a hit!


Leave a Reply

