Welcome!

First blog posts can be so awkward, can’t they? You don’t know me; I don’t know you, and we dance clumsily around until we feel as though we’re friends. So let’s get all of that out of the way and be friends right now.

Facing the Lens is a labor of love that has been curling in my mind and swimming in my thoughts for a long time. How does one adequately describe something so intensely personal? Something one has spent untold hours dreaming about? It is terrifying to put something out there like this for public consumption. Will people like my work? Will they have nice things to say? Or will they reject it entirely? Will my dream die? Working past those confusing and self-defeating thoughts is something I always struggle with, but a few months ago I decided that naysayers be damned, I’m going to get serious about my photography and I’m going to MAKE IT WORK. I’m confident that I have the talent and the vision to be successful and to bring joy to the lives of others with my images.

And so, I’d like to welcome you officially to my blog. I wish for this blog to be a repository of my thoughts, my struggles, and my successes with Facing the Lens. I hope to be honest and forthright and to make the journey you’ve chosen to embark upon with me as interesting as possible. I think we are in for a fun ride, and I’m happy to have you all along!

11 Comments on “Welcome!”

  1. christopherkoehler says:

    I can’t wait to see how this develops (hee…develops. pictures. get it?…OK, that was pathetic). The images i’ve seen thus far have been wonderful, however, so i expect good things in the future. No pressure. 😉

  2. johndodd says:

    Congratulations! You’re off to a very promising start. Just wanted to wish you luck. And, of course, I couldn’t let Chris’ lame pun be your only comment. 😉

  3. balebusta says:

    Mazel tov! Work it girl!

  4. Laurie says:

    Fantastic! You are such a treasure!

  5. Laurie says:

    Hey, I just checked Etsy because I want to buy a bug photo for Leah but I see no bug photos. Please advise!

  6. Mockingbird says:

    I expect nothing but wonderful things for you, my dear talented friend. So happy you’re doing this, so the rest of the world can see your work and not just those of us lucky enough to know you already. MWAH!

  7. Bravo! Bravo! Note the unusual enthusiasm.

  8. John Masters says:

    Hey it looks like you are just getting started here. I like what you have so far. Good luck and have fun 😉 = John

  9. Emily Gooch says:

    Congrats on your new blog. So far, I’ve enjoy what you posted. Nice images! Look forward to seeing more…

  10. It can be terrifying to put yourself out here for public consumption, for sure. But in my very limited experience, it seems to yield dividends. And brighten my days in unexpected but awesome ways, as you recently did for me. I hope your experience is the same.

    P.S. I’ve only seen a handful of your photos so far, but they’ve all been stunning. Keep it up!

  11. Mary Vican says:

    You go, girl! Woo hoo! Welcome to FPOE too!


Leave a Reply

